Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy

Last Updated:

Interactive Map of Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy

Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy Map Links:


Up at the very top of Italy, in the northeastern corner that borders Austria and Slovenia, is the region of Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy. The Friuli Venezia Giulia region covers a total area of approximately 3,059 square miles, making it the fourth-smallest region in Italy. 

Cities as Seen on a Map of Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy:

  • Triesta
  • Udine
  • Aqueilia
  • Grado
  • Cividale del Friuli

Quick Facts:

  • Population = 1.2 million
  • Language = Italian (Friulian & Venetian dialects), Slovene, and German
  • Ethnicities = Italian, Roman, Celtic, Austrian, Slovenian
  • Capital = Trieste

The History of Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy

The region of Friuli Venezia Giulia was controlled by the Roman Empire until its fall in 476. By the 6th century, the Lombards, a Germanic tribe of people, had entered the area and controlled the region until 774. Another group of people known as the Alpine Slavs had also entered the area and controlled the eastern area of the region. 

In 1420, Friuli became a Venetian territory while the remainder of the region fell under Austrian control. In 1797, Venetian lost control over Friuli, causing Friuli to be given up to Austria. 

The Austrian Coastal Region was established in 1849, which included the city of Trieste. In 1867, the Austro-Hungarian Empire was established, and Trieste was adopted as the empire’s main seaport. In 1918, after the great war in 1914, Friuli-Venezia Giulia was officially part of Italy. The London Agreement of 1954 brought restoration to Trieste, and shortly after that, in 1963, autonomy was granted for the region. In 1968, the province of Pordenone was established, which is one of the main communities of the Friuli Venezia Giulia region. It wasn’t until 2001 when the region removed the hyphenation from Friuli-Venezia Giulia to Friuli Venezia Giulia. 


Italian is the primary language of the region. There are specific dialects that are found in this region, including Friulian and Venetia. Another language that is spoken in the region is Slovene, which is the language spoken in the country of Slovenia, the country that neighbors Friuli Venezia Giulia to the west. 

As Germany had control over northern Italy and the bordering country of Austria, German is spoken in this region as well. 


Roman Catholicism is the primary religion that is practiced in the region. Roman Catholicism is the largest denomination of the Christian church. The Pope, who is the leader of the Roman Catholic Church, lives in Vatican City, a city located in Rome. 


The geographical positioning of this region gives way to a diverse climate. The region has a colder climate to the north in the Alps and an oceanic climate to the south. The region is divided into quadrants. 

The northern quadrant has given the people of the region a variety of landscapes and wildlife. This region has grown into a popular tourist area because of the skiing opportunities the area has to offer. 

The eastern quadrant of the region has poor soil that has not been able to offer the people in the area an abundance of crops or goods to be produced. However, the western quadrant is thriving with beaches, natural formations, and tourist destinations. 

The southern quadrant faces the Adriatic Sea. This semi-hilly region is where some of the world’s best white wine is produced. The eastern portion of southern Friuli Venezia Giulia is known as Slavia Friulana, as a large group of Slavian settlers still live in the area today.

Each quadrant of the area has played a role in the overall economy, population, and culture of the region throughout history. 


Friuli Venezia Giulia has many influences from its neighboring countries. In the easternmost quadrant of the region, there is a large presence of Slavians, which has played a role in the language and ethnicities that are present in the area. 

Migration Patterns

In 1914, there was a large number of Italian emigrants that left the Friuli Venezia Giulia region. It is estimated that around 83,000 Friulians emigrated from the area in search of work. During this time, any election that was held would not receive much support from the region, as the only people who could vote were men, and it was the men who had emigrated to find work.

Additionally, men who emigrated from the region of Friuli Venezia Giulia had a strong skill-set in construction. Without these men to work on the infrastructure of the region, Friuli Venezia Giulia was slow to develop.

After World War II, the region began to regrow. Today, people move to the area because of its opportunities in tourism and agriculture. 


Because Friuli Venezia Giulia borders both Austria and Slovenia, it is extremely likely that genealogy connected to this region would have Austrian and Slovenian traits and characteristics. In addition to Austria and Slovenia, this region also encompasses Roman and Celtic lineage that dates back to the time period leading up to Ancient Rome.

List of Itlay Regions

Caleb Pike
About the author

Caleb Pike is an avid hiker and nature lover, with a passion for exploring the great outdoors. He's a writer, photographer, and adventurer, always seeking new trails to blaze and peaks to conquer.